After The Remembrance
Brisbane Transport Bowls Ass’n Plays Samford and Waterloo Clubs
December 12, 2016
Club Sapphire
Australian Championships heading to Merimbula’s Club Sapphire
January 17, 2017

Buderim Bowls Club November Men’s Fours Carnival – $5000 prize

Buderim Fours' Carnival

I was one of the many bowlers who went up the Buderim Mountain for the annual two day Men’s Fours, which kicked off on Saturday, November 26 with 28 teams chasing the major prize of $1400. Teams came from far and wide: Ipswich, Gympie, Kandanga, Pine Rivers, Bribie Island, Hervey Bay as well as several teams from Sunny Coast.

Early morning rain threated to delay the start of play but it soon cleared for the first round game at 9.00am. Five games were played over two days – three games on Saturday and two on Sunday. After day one it was a very close contest where the overnight leaders were J Thain with 88 points, and A Johnson and N Melbourne both with 86 Points.

Clear skies and bright sunshine greeted bowlers on Sunday morning as the battle got underway to challenge the overnight leaders. After game four, there were just three undefeated teams: J Thain, N Melbourne and P Wrice.

In the fifth and final game on Sunday, the Alan Newman team caused the upset of the afternoon round by defeating the previously undefeated John Thain team – winning nine ends to six and taking the maximum 20 win points.

Top marks to the Buderim Bowls Club for hosting a most successful Bowls Tournament including a 40 prize monster raffle, and a set of Taylor Bowls, as well as event prize money of $5,000.


Winners                      G Harrison, D Muir, K Brown & N Melbourne.

Second Place            B Harris, B Sullivan, B Hill, & P Wrice.

Third Place                H Vanroy, T Jardim, D Colburn & C Pritchard.

Fourth Place              G Williams, J Walker, W Dangerfield & A Johnson.

Fifth Place                 W Gravett, G Hewish, P Wibberley & G Westall.

Sixth Place                 B Hore, R Williams, W Mutzelberg & P Johnson.


Round Winners:

Round One                D Keating team.

Round Two               J Nelson team.

Round Three             S Ogden team.

Round Four               S Haldane team.

Round Five                J Bartle team.


Buderim Fours' Carnival Buderim Fours' Carnival

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *