Club community spirit shines through
May 19, 2018
BPL07 winners Gold Coast Hawks
The Hawks soar once again
June 2, 2018

Canberra hosts 23rd National Friendship Carnival

Canberra hosts 23rd National Friendship Carnival

John Kemp, Thelma Kemp, Marion Jackson and Bundaberg Past Presidents Bowls Association secretary Gary Jackson.

The 2018 Past Presidents’ 23rd National Friendship Carnival was hosted by the Australian Capital Territory Branch in Canberra in April. Five Canberra Bowls Clubs(Canberra North Bowls Club, Queanbeyan RSL, Belconnen Bowls Club and Tuggeranong Bowls Club) were involved over four playing days with two games of 18 ends each day. All venues had grass greens of a high standard and the hosts were very friendly, supplying lunches of a high standard as well.

Thirty-eight teams of “OpenGender” fours nominated from the ACT, New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia. Queensland was represented by 12 teams. Two points were awarded for a win and one point for a draw with the winners being determined by points plus margins. Trophies were presented to the winners and runners-up and the best from each state.

There were three equal winning teams on 14 of a possible 16 points, one from South Australia, one from Western Australia and one from Queensland. After margins were considered, the Queensland team of Thelma Kemp, Marion Jackson, Gary (Jacko) Jackson and John (Grumpy) Kemp received the best Team of Queensland Trophy. This team was from the Bundaberg Branch, with all four being members of the Moore Park Beach Bowls Club.

The Carnival Committee of the Australian Capital Territory is to be congratulated for organising a very successful Carnival. The 24th National Friendship Carnival 2020 will be in Queensland hosted by the Gold Coast Branch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *